理解开源的法律含义

向世界分享你们具有创造性的工作,是一个多么令人激动和有价值的经历。这也意味着你们必须担心一堆你们不清楚的法律问题。幸运的是,你们不必从头开始。我们已经涵盖了你们的法律需求。(在你们行动前,请确定阅读了我们的免责声明。)

为什么人们这么关心开源的法律方面问题?

很高兴你们提问了!当你们做创造性工作(例如写作,图形或代码)时,该作品默认为专有版权(copyright)。也就是说,法律承认你们是你们作品的作者,他人在没有经得你们同意的情况下不能使用你们的工作。

一般来说,这意味着没有人可以在没有你们授权的情况下使用,复制,分发或者修改你们的工作。

然而,开源有着不一样的情况。因为作者希望他人使用,修改以及分享他们的工作。但因为法律默认依然是专有版权(copyright),所以你们需要一个明确说明这些权限的协议。

如果你们不应用开源许可协议,那么对你们项目做出贡献的人也都将成为其工作的专属版权(copyright)所有者。这意味着没有人(也包括你们)可以使用,复制,分发后者修改他们的贡献,

最后,你们的项目可能和你们不知道的许可证要求存在依赖关系。你们的项目社区,或者你们的雇主政策也可能要求你们使用特定的开源许可协议。我们将在下面介绍这些情况。

GitHub上的公开项目都是开源的吗?

当你们在GitHub上创建一个新项目 时,你们可以选择将仓库设置成private或者public

Create repository

公开你们的GitHub项目与许可你们的项目是不同的。公开项目是由GitHub的服务条款保护,它允许他人浏览以及fork你们的项目,但是没有你的授权大家是不能使用你的工作成果的。

如果你们想让他人使用,复制,修改你们的项目,或者参与贡献你们的项目,那么你们的项目就需要包含一个开源许可协议。例如,即使你们的项目是公开的,但没有你们的授权,一些人是不能合法在他们的代码中使用你们GitHub项目中的任何部分。

如何保护我们的项目

你们很幸运,开源许可协议已经是标准化而且易于使用的。你们可以直接复制粘贴一个已经存在的许可协议到你们的项目里。

MITApache 2.0GPLv3都是非常流行的开源许可协议,但是也有其它选择。你们可以在choosealicense.com上找到这些许可协议的全部文本,同时说明了如何使用他们。

当你们在GitHub上创建了一个新项目,你们会被要求添加一个许可协议

我的项目适合什么样的开源许可?

如果你们是从头开始的,那么使用MIT License,不容易出错。它很短,很容易理解,并允许任何人做任何事情,只要他们保留许可证的副本,包括你们的版权声明。如果你们需要,您们能够根据不同的许可协议发布项目。

否则,为项目选择合适的开源许可协议,取决于你们的目标。

你们的项目非常可能有(或将有)依赖。例如,如果你们开源了一个Node.js的项目,你们将可能使用来自npm(Node Package Manager)的库。你们依赖的这些库都有它们自己的开源许可协议。如果他们的许可协议”允许”(对使用,修改和分享给予公共权限,而对有关项目的许可协议没有要求),这样你们就可以使用任何你们想要的许可协议。共同允许许可协议包括MIT,Apache 2.0,ISC和BSD。

另一方面,如果你们的依赖中有一个的许可协议是”强硬的copyleft”(也给予公众相同的权限,但条件是有关项目得使用同样的许可协议),那么你们的项目将必须使用与之相同的许可协议。copyleft许可协议包括GPLv2,GPLv3和AGPLv3。

你们也会想要考虑你们希望的社区使用以及为你们的项目做贡献:

  • 你们是否想让你们的项目成为其它项目的依赖?在你们的相关社区最好尽可能使用最流行的许可协议。例如,MITnpm libraries使用的最流行的许可协议。
  • 你们的项目是否想吸引大企业?大型企业可能需要所有贡献者的明确专利许可。在这种情况下,Apache 2.0适合你们。
  • 你们的项目是否想吸引不愿自己的贡献用于其它同类型软件的贡献者?GPLv3AGPLv3适合你们。

你们的公司可能为自己的项目准备了特定的许可协议。例如,它可能需要宽松的许可证,以便公司可以在公司的闭源产品中使用你们的项目。或者你们的公司要求严格的copyleft许可协议和一份附加的贡献者协议,以便除了你们公司以外,没有人能在封闭源代码的软件中使用你们的项目。或者你们的公司可能有与标准,社会责任或透明度相关的某些需求,其中任何一个都可能需要特定的许可策略。与你们公司的法律部门谈谈。

当你们在GitHub上创建了一个新项目,它给你们提供了选择许可协议的选项。包括上面提到的可以使你们的GitHub项目开源的许可协议。如果你们想要了解其他选择,可以通过查阅choosealicense.com找到适合你们项目(即使它不是软件)的许可协议。

如果我想修改开源许可该怎么办?

大多数项目绝不需要更换许可协议。但是情况偶尔有变。

例如,随着你们项目的壮大,它添加了新的依赖或用户,或者你们的公司改变了策略,或者其他的要求要更换不同的许可协议。如果你们在开始项目的时候没有添加许可协议,那么再添加一个许可协议和更换许可协议是一样的效果。当你们要添加或者更换项目的许可协议时,需要考虑以下三件事:

这件事很复杂。确定许可协议的兼容性和合规性,以及谁拥有版权,这会非常快速地变得复杂和混乱。为新的发布和贡献选择一个新的且合适的许可协议与重新许可已存在的贡献是不同的。一旦你们有任何想改变许可协议的想法,请首先让法律团队知道。即使你已经或可以获得项目版权所有者的许可证更改许可,请考虑更改对项目的其他用户和贡献者的影响。将更换许可协议视为”管理事件”,只有通过与项目的利益相关者进行明确的沟通和咨询,才更有可能顺利进行。请谨记,从一开始就为你们的选择和使用合适的许可协议。

你们的项目已经有了许可协议。如果项目的现有许可证与您要更改的许可证兼容,则可以开始使用新许可证。这是因为如果A许可协议与B许可协议兼容,你们将遵守A的条款,同时遵守B的条款(但不一定反之亦然)。因此,如果你们目前正在使用许可型的许可协议(例如MIT),则可以更改为具有更多条件的许可协议,只要你们保留MIT许可协议的副本和任何相关的版权声明(即继续遵守MIT许可协议的最低条件)。如果你们现在的许可协议不是许可型的(例如,copyleft或者你们还没有许可协议)以及你们不是版权的唯一所有者,那么你们不能将许可协议改为MIT。基本上,只要是使用的许可型的许可协议,版权所有者能事先更换许可协议。

你们的项目已经有版权所有者。如果你们是你们项目的唯一贡献者,然后你们或者你们的公司是项目版权的唯一所有者。你们可以添加或更换任何你们或者你们公司心仪的许可协议。不然你们需要取得其他版权所有者的同意。他们是谁?他们是已经参与你们项目提交的人。但有些情况是项目版权掌握在这些人的雇主手中。在某些情况下,人们只是做了_微小的_贡献,但没有硬性规定,在一些行代码下的贡献不受版权保护。对与这样的情况该怎么办?对于一个相对较小以及年轻的项目来说,取得所有贡献者对更换许可协议的同意是可行的。但对于大项目和老项目来说,你们必须寻求很多贡献者以及他们继承者的共识。Mozilla花费了多年(2001-2006)重新授权Firefox,Thunderbird和相关软件。

或者,你们可以让贡献者事先同意(通过额外的贡献者协议 - 见下文)在某些条件下更改某些许可协议,这些更改将超过现有的开源许可协议。这会改变许可协议改的复杂性。如果在执行许可协议更改时,你们仍然想要和项目利益相关者进行沟通,你们需要从你们律师那得到更多帮助。

我们的项目需要额外的贡献者协议吗?

可能不要。对于大多数的开源项目,一个开源许可协议可作用与所有贡献者和用户。

贡献者协议会给维护者带来额外的管理工作。这些协议增加了多少工作得取决去项目和实施。简单的协议可能要求贡献者确认和点击,在项目的开源许可协议下他们有权利贡献。更复杂的协议可能需要法律的审查和贡献者的雇主的签字。

此外,贡献者协议有时被认为对项目社区不友好。他们也增加了人们参与社区的障碍。

一些情况下你们可能想要为你们的项目考虑一个额外的贡献协议:

  • 你们的律师想要所有的贡献者明确接受贡献者条款,或者因为他们觉得只有开源许可协议还远远不够。如果这是唯一的问题,那么有肯定项目开源许可协议的贡献者协议就足够了。jQuery个人贡献者许可协议就是一个很好的轻量级的个人贡献者协议。对于一些项目来说,Developer Certificate of Origin是一个很好的先择。
  • 你们的项目使用的开放源许可协议不包括明确的专利授权(如MIT),你们需要所有贡献者的专利授权,这些可能适合用于你们公司的专利组合或者项目的其他贡献者和用户。Apache 个人贡献者许可协议是一种常用的附加贡献者协议,其具有与Apache许可2.0中的专利许可相同的专利许可。
  • 如果你们的项目使用的是copyleft许可协议,但你们也需要分发项目的专有版本。那你们需要每个贡献者分配版权给你们或者授予你们许可权。MongoDB贡献者协议就是这中类型的。
  • 你们认为你们的项目在其有效期内需要更换许可协议,以及事先得到贡献者的同意。

如果你的项目确实需要使用额外的贡献者协议,请考虑使用CLA助手等集成来最大限度地减少贡献者分心。

公司的法律团队需要知道什么?

作为一名公司的雇员,如果你们在发布一个开源项目,你们首先需要让法律团队知道。 即使是个人项目,请考虑让他们知道。你们可能和公司有一个”员工知识产权协议”,这给了公司一些对你们项目的控制权,特别是当项目和公司的业务有着很多的联系或者你们使用公司的资源发展项目。你的公司 应该 很容易地给你许可,也许已经通过一个员工友好的知识产权协议或公司政策。如果不是这样,你么可以谈判(例如,解释你们的项目为公司的专业学习和发展目标服务),或者你们在找到一个更好的公司前停止你们项目的工作。

如果你们的开源项目是为了你们的公司,那么绝对要让他们知道。根据公司的业务需求和专业知识,你们的法律团队可能已经制定了有关开放源代码许可协议(以及可能还有其他贡献者协议)的政策,以确保您的项目符合其依赖关系的许可协议。如果不是这样,你们和他们很幸运!你们的法律团队应该渴望与你们合作,把这个东西搞清楚。你们需要思考这些事:

  • 第三方资源:你们的项目有其他人创建的依赖或者使用他人的代码?如果这些事开源项目,你们需要遵守第三方资源的开源许可协议。首先,选择与第三方资源的开放源许可协议一起使用的许可协议(见上文)。如果你们的项目修改或者发布第三方开源资源,那么你们法律团队还想知道你们符合第三方开源许可协议的其他条件,例如保留版权声明。如果你们使用了其他没有开源许可协议的代码,那么你们可能会要求第三方资源的维护者添加一个开源许可协议,要是你们得不到许可,你们只能停止使用他们的代码。

  • 商业机密:请考虑项目中是否有公司不想对外公开的东西。如果是这样的话,你们只能开源项目的一部分,得保护好公司的商业机密。

  • 专利:你们公司是否申请了与你们项目有关的专利?如果开源源代码,这会对公司的专利进行公开披露。可悲的是,你们可能被要求等待(或者公司会重新思考应用程序)。如果你们期望从拥有大量专利组合的公司的员工那里得到贡献,们的法律团队可能希望你们使用来自贡献者的明确专利授权的许可协议(例如Apache 2.0或GPLv3)或其他贡献者协议(见上文)。

  • 商标:认真检查你们的项目名没有与已经存在的商标冲突。如果你们将自己公司的商标用于项目,请检查它有没有造成冲突。FOSSmarks是在自由和开源项目的背景下理解商标的实用指南。

  • 隐私:你们的项目是否收集了用户数据并存储到公司的服务器?你们的法律团队可以帮助你们遵守公司政策和外部法规。

如果你们发布了公司的第一开源项目,为了能通过,以上这些绰绰有余(不要担心,大多数项目不会引起重大关注)。 长期来说,们的法律团队可以做更多的事情,以帮助公司从开源中获得更多,并保持安全:

  • 员工贡献策略:考虑制定一个公司策略,指明你们的员工如何为开源项目贡献。明确的政策将减少你们员工的迷惑,并帮助他们为公司的最佳利益向开源项目做贡献,无论是作为他们工作的一部分还是在自由时间。Rackspace的Model IP和开源贡献策略就是很好的示例。
  • 发布什么:(几乎) 所有?如果你们的法律团队了解并投资于你们公司的开源策略,他们将是你们最好的帮助,而不是阻碍你们的努力。
  • 合规性:即使你们公司没有发布任何开源项目,他们也会使用别人的开源软件。意识和过程可以避免麻烦,产品延迟发布和诉讼。
  • 专利:你们的公司可能希望加入开放发明网络,一个共享的专利防御池,以保护成员使用主要开源项目,或探索其他替代专利许可。

  • 管理:特别是当如果将项目转移到公司以外的法律实体是有意义的。

Sharing your creative work with the world can be an exciting and rewarding experience. It can also mean a bunch of legal things you didn’t know you had to worry about. Thankfully, you don’t have to start from scratch. We’ve got your legal needs covered. (Before you dig in, be sure to read our disclaimer.)

Glad you asked! When you make a creative work (such as writing, graphics, or code), that work is under exclusive copyright by default. That is, the law assumes that as the author of your work, you have a say in what others can do with it.

In general, that means nobody else can use, copy, distribute, or modify your work without being at risk of take-downs, shake-downs, or litigation.

Open source is an unusual circumstance, however, because the author expects that others will use, modify, and share the work. But because the legal default is still exclusive copyright, you need a license that explicitly states these permissions.

If you don’t apply an open source license, everybody who contributes to your project also becomes an exclusive copyright holder of their work. That means nobody can use, copy, distribute, or modify their contributions – and that “nobody” includes you.

Finally, your project may have dependencies with license requirements that you weren’t aware of. Your project’s community, or your employer’s policies, may also require your project to use specific open source licenses. We’ll cover these situations below.

Are public GitHub projects open source?

When you create a new project on GitHub, you have the option to make the repository private or public.

Create repository

Making your GitHub project public is not the same as licensing your project. Public projects are covered by GitHub’s Terms of Service, which allows others to view and fork your project, but your work otherwise comes with no permissions.

If you want others to use, copy, modify, or contribute back to your project, you need to include an open source license. For example, someone cannot legally use any part of your GitHub project in their code, even if it’s public, unless you explicitly give them the right to do so.

Just give me the TL;DR on what I need to protect my project.

You’re in luck, because today, open source licenses are standardized and easy to use. You can copy-paste an existing license directly into your project.

MIT, Apache 2.0, and GPLv3 are the most popular open source licenses, but there are other options to choose from. You can find the full text of these licenses, and instructions on how to use them, on choosealicense.com.

When you create a new project on GitHub, you’ll be asked to add a license.

Which open source license is appropriate for my project?

If you’re starting from a blank slate, it’s hard to go wrong with the MIT License. It’s short, very easy to understand, and allows anyone to do anything so long as they keep a copy of the license, including your copyright notice. You’ll be able to release the project under a different license if you ever need to.

Otherwise, picking the right open source license for your project depends on your objectives.

Your project very likely has (or will have) dependencies. For example, if you’re open sourcing a Node.js project, you’ll probably use libraries from the Node Package Manager (npm). Each of those libraries you depend on will have its own open source license. If each of their licenses is “permissive” (gives the public permission to use, modify, and share, without any condition for downstream licensing), you can use any license you want. Common permissive licenses include MIT, Apache 2.0, ISC, and BSD.

On the other hand, if any of your dependencies’ licenses are “strong copyleft” (also gives public same permissions, subject to condition of using the same license downstream), then your project will have to use the same license. Common strong copyleft licenses include GPLv2, GPLv3, and AGPLv3.

You may also want to consider the communities you hope will use and contribute to your project:

  • Do you want your project to be used as a dependency by other projects? Probably best to use the most popular license in your relevant community. For example, MIT is the most popular license for npm libraries.
  • Do you want your project to appeal to large businesses? A large business will likely want an express patent license from all contributors. In this case, Apache 2.0 has you (and them) covered.
  • Do you want your project to appeal to contributors who do not want their contributions to be used in closed source software? GPLv3 or (if they also do not wish to contribute to closed source services) AGPLv3 will go over well.

Your company may have specific licensing requirements for its open source projects. For example, it may require a permissive license so that the company can use your project in the company’s closed source product. Or your company may require a strong copyleft license and an additional contributor agreement (see below) so that only your company, and nobody else, can use your project in closed source software. Or your company may have certain needs related to standards, social responsibility, or transparency, any of which could require a particular licensing strategy. Talk to your company’s legal department.

When you create a new project on GitHub, you are given the option to select a license. Including one of the licenses mentioned above will make your GitHub project open source. If you’d like to see other options, check out choosealicense.com to find the right license for your project, even if it isn’t software.

What if I want to change the license of my project?

Most projects never need to change licenses. But occasionally circumstances change.

For example, as your project grows it adds dependencies or users, or your company changes strategies, any of which could require or want a different license. Also, if you neglected to license your project from the start, adding a license is effectively the same as changing licenses. There are three fundamental things to consider when adding or changing a your project’s license:

It’s complicated. Determining license compatibility and compliance and who holds copyright can get complicated and confusing very quickly. Switching to a new but compatible license for new releases and contributions is different from relicensing all existing contributions. Involve your legal team the first hint of any desire to change licenses. Even if you have or can obtain permission from your project’s copyright holders for a license change, consider the impact of the change on your project’s other users and contributors. Think of a license change as a “governance event” for your project that will more likely go smoothly with clear communications and consultation with your project’s stakeholders. All the more reason to choose and use an appropriate license for your project from its inception!

Your project’s existing license. If your project’s existing license is compatible with the license you want to change to, you could just start using the new license. That’s because if license A is compatible with license B, you’ll comply with the terms of A while complying with the terms of B (but not necessarily vice versa). So if you’re currently using a permissive license (e.g., MIT), you could change to a license with more conditions, so long as you retain a copy of the MIT license and any associated copyright notices (i.e., continue to comply with the MIT license’s minimal conditions). But if your current license is not permissive (e.g., copyleft, or you don’t have a license) and you aren’t the sole copyright holder, you couldn’t just change your project’s license to MIT. Essentially, with a permissive license the project’s copyright holders have given permission in advance to change licenses.

Your project’s existing copyright holders. If you’re the sole contributor to your project then either you or your company is the project’s sole copyright holder. You can add or change to whatever license you or your company wants to. Otherwise there may be other copyright holders that you need agreement from in order to change licenses. Who are they? People who have commits in your project is a good place to start. But in some cases copyright will be held by those people’s employers. In some cases people will have only made minimal contributions, but there’s no hard and fast rule that contributions under some number of lines of code are not subject to copyright. What to do? It depends. For a relatively small and young project, it may be feasible to get all existing contributors to agree to a license change in an issue or pull request. For large and long-lived projects, you may have to seek out many contributors and even their heirs. Mozilla took years (2001-2006) to relicense Firefox, Thunderbird, and related software.

Alternatively, you can have contributors agree in advance (via an additional contributor agreement – see below) to certain license changes under certain conditions, beyond those allowed by your existing open source license. This shifts the complexity of changing licenses a bit. You’ll need more help from your lawyers up front, and you’ll still want to clearly communicate with your project’s stakeholders when executing a license change.

Does my project need an additional contributor agreement?

Probably not. For the vast majority of open source projects, an open source license implicitly serves as both the inbound (from contributors) and outbound (to other contributors and users) license. If your project is on GitHub, the GitHub Terms of Service make “inbound=outbound” the explicit default.

An additional contributor agreement – often called a Contributor License Agreement (CLA) – can create administrative work for project maintainers. How much work an agreement adds depends on the project and implementation. A simple agreement might require that contributors confirm, with a click, that they have the rights necessary to contribute under the project open source license. A more complicated agreement might require legal review and sign-off from contributors’ employers.

Also, by adding “paperwork” that some believe is unnecessary, hard to understand, or unfair (when the agreement recipient gets more rights than contributors or the public do via the project’s open source license), an additional contributor agreement may be perceived as unfriendly to the project’s community.

Some situations where you may want to consider an additional contributor agreement for your project include:

  • Your lawyers want all contributors to expressly accept (sign, online or offline) contribution terms, perhaps because they feel the open source license itself is not enough (even though it is!). If this is the only concern, a contributor agreement that affirms the project’s open source license should be enough. The jQuery Individual Contributor License Agreement is a good example of a lightweight additional contributor agreement. For some projects, a Developer Certificate of Origin can be an even simpler alternative.
  • Your project uses an open source license that does not include an express patent grant (such as MIT), and you need a patent grant from all contributors, some of whom may work for companies with large patent portfolios that could be used to target you or the project’s other contributors and users. The Apache Individual Contributor License Agreement is a commonly used additional contributor agreement that has a patent grant mirroring the one found in the Apache License 2.0.
  • Your project is under a copyleft license, but you also need to distribute a proprietary version of the project. You’ll need every contributor to assign copyright to you or grant you (but not the public) a permissive license. The MongoDB Contributor Agreement is an example this type of agreement.
  • You think your project might need to change licenses over its lifetime and want contributors to agree in advance to such changes.

If you do need to use an additional contributor agreement with your project, consider using an integration such as CLA assistant to minimize contributor distraction.

If you’re releasing an open source project as a company employee, first, your legal team should know that you’re open sourcing a project.

For better or worse, consider letting them know even if it’s a personal project. You probably have an “employee IP agreement” with your company that gives them some control of your projects, especially if they are at all related to the company’s business or you use any company resources to develop the project. Your company should easily give you permission, and maybe already has through an employee-friendly IP agreement or a company policy. If not, you can negotiate (for example, explain that your project serves the company’s professional learning and development objectives for you), or avoid working on your project until you find a better company.

If you’re open sourcing a project for your company, then definitely let them know. Your legal team probably already has policies for what open source license (and maybe additional contributor agreement) to use based on the company’s business requirements and expertise around ensuring your project complies with the licenses of its dependencies. If not, you and they are in luck! Your legal team should be eager to work with you to figure this stuff out. Some things to think about:

  • Third party material: Does your project have dependencies created by others or otherwise include or use others’ code? If these are open source, you’ll need to comply with the materials’ open source licenses. That starts with choosing a license that works with the third party open source licenses (see above). If your project modifies or distributes third party open source material, then your legal team will also want to know that you’re meeting other conditions of the third party open source licenses such as retaining copyright notices. If your project uses others’ code that doesn’t have an open source license, you’ll probably have to ask the third party maintainers to add an open source license, and if you can’t get one, stop using their code in your project.

  • Trade secrets: Consider whether there is anything in the project that the company does not want to make available to the general public. If so, you could open source the rest of your project, after extracting the material you want to keep private.

  • Patents: Is your company applying for a patent of which open sourcing your project would constitute public disclosure? Sadly, you might be asked to wait (or maybe the company will reconsider the wisdom of the application). If you’re expecting contributions to your project from employees of companies with large patent portfolios, your legal team may want you to use a license with an express patent grant from contributors (such as Apache 2.0 or GPLv3), or an additional contributor agreement (see above).

  • Trademarks: Double check that your project’s name does not conflict with any existing trademarks. If you use your own company trademarks in the project, check that it does not cause any conflicts. FOSSmarks is a practical guide to understanding trademarks in the context of free and open source projects.

  • Privacy: Does your project collect data on users? “Phone home” to company servers? Your legal team can help you comply with company policies and external regulations.

If you’re releasing your company’s first open source project, the above is more than enough to get through (but don’t worry, most projects shouldn’t raise any major concerns).

Longer term, your legal team can do more to help the company get more from its involvement in open source, and stay safe:

  • Employee contribution policies: Consider developing a corporate policy that specifies how your employees contribute to open source projects. A clear policy will reduce confusion among your employees and help them contribute to open source projects in the company’s best interest, whether as part of their jobs or in their free time. A good example is Rackspace’s Model IP and Open Source Contribution Policy.
  • What to release: (Almost) everything? If your legal team understands and is invested in your company’s open source strategy, they’ll be best able to help rather than hinder your efforts.
  • Compliance: Even if your company doesn’t release any open source projects, it uses others’ open source software. Awareness and process can prevent headaches, product delays, and lawsuits.