為何有人尋求經濟上的支持

很多開源工作都來自志願者的辛勤付出。例如,有人在使用的過程中遇到了臭蟲,就自己著手修正;也有些人單純利用自己的閒暇時間享受維護開源專案所帶來的樂趣。

有些人為開源貢獻,卻不求報酬,可能的原因有:

  • 他們本來就有一份自己熱愛的全職工作,這可以讓他們在沒有後顧之憂的情況下利用業餘空閒時間來爲開源做貢獻。
  • 他們熱衷於沉浸在開源的思考中,或是純粹享受創作的過程,不想因為有收錢而有要負責的壓力。
  • 他們能夠從開源的貢獻中獲得其它好處,比如獲得名聲、當作自己的作品集或是藉此學習新的技能,又或者是能跟社群互動。

但是對其他人來說,尤其是正在進行的或者是需要花費大量時間的付出時,能夠取得報酬是人們積極參與開源的唯一理由,無論是專案的需要還是個人原因。

維護熱門的專案是一項很重要的責任,每週需要花上 10~20 小時,而不是每個月花上幾個小時就能搞定。

有償工作也能使各行各業的人創造有意義的貢獻。有些人需要贊助才願意參與開源專案,可能是因為他當前的財務收入不足、身上有債務、或者需要照顧家庭、撫養他人。有能力但在經濟上沒辦法無償貢獻自己時間的人,依然能當個貢獻者。這涉及道德倫理,正如 @ashedryden無償勞動的倫理和開源軟體社群 一文中所描述的,人們經常誤以為,專案成果都是由那些在事業上已經有成就的人們完成的,這些人得以透過無償貢獻獲得更多的成果,而其他無法負擔無償貢獻的人就會錯失了這樣的機會,不斷負向循環下去,會使得開源社群越來越缺乏多樣性。

如果正在尋找經濟上的支持,有兩個方法可以參考。透過群眾募資,或是找一能夠爲專案提供資金的組織。

為你的貢獻募資

在今日,無論是兼職或全職,很多人透過開源獲得了報酬。最爲常見的做法就是去找願意爲你付出的時間和工作成果掏腰包的雇主談談。

如果你的老闆使用了該開源專案,贊助的事情自然就比較好談,盡量發揮創意地去向雇主提案。也可能雇主沒有使用到開源專案,但他們有使用 Python ,用來經營一個熱門的專案,吸引有興趣的 Python 開發者,又或者都不是,那老闆也至少營造了一個對開發者友善的環境。

如果你現在還沒有爲開源專案做工作,但是你希望你現在所做得成績開源出來,那麼你可以和你的老闆講,奉勸他將內部的軟體開源。

很多公司都在開發開源專案,從而能夠打造自己的品牌,以及希望僱傭到高質量的人才。

@hueniverse ,舉例來說,有充足的證據證明 沃爾瑪對開源的投資是合理的。 @jamesgpearce 同樣,Facebook的開源專案讓它的招聘顯得與衆不同 :

開源能夠與我們Hacker文化密切配合,也能夠和我們的組織融洽。我們詢問員工:”在Facebook真的那麼的在意開源軟體?” 超過2/3的人的回答是”yes”。一半的人表示,該計劃對他們爲我們工作的決定作出了積極的貢獻。這可不是一個戲謔的數字,我們希望繼續保持這樣。

如果你所在的公司不贊同這麼做,沒關係,重要的是保持社群和企業活動之間的界限清晰。你要告訴老闆,開源的維持是由全球各地的人所貢獻,要比任何一個公司或某一地域都大的多。老闆會自己作出權衡的。

如果你實在無法在當前的僱主下開展相關開源的工作,那麼是該考慮換老闆的時候,應到找個支持想開源作貢獻的老闆!尋找那些致力於開源工作的公司。比如:

那些大公司發起的專案,如 GoReact,均希望僱傭到優秀的工程師來爲他們工作。

當然最終還是要看你自身的條件而定,你甚至可以利用你的開源專案來獨立的進行融資。這邊就有幾個案例:

為你的專案尋找資助

除了針對個人貢獻者的建議之外,還有一些專案可以從公司、獨立投資方、以及其它的資金處來獲得進一步的工作。

機構資金可能用於支付當前的貢獻者,涵蓋運行專案的成本(如託管費用)或投資於新功能或想法。

一些獲得組織資助的專案案例:

儘管開源日漸的流行,但是爲專案尋找資金仍然是處於試驗中。目前所收集到的包括:

  • 通過大力宣傳活動或募捐,爲您的工作籌集資金 這策略在你擁有足夠的粉絲,或者是已經社群聲譽良好的情況下,又或者是專案非常的受歡迎,等情況下有效。
  • 接受基金巨頭的資助 一些軟體基金會和公司爲開源的相關工作提供很好的機會,如Python 軟體基金會, Mozilla 基金會、以及Stripe.
  • 獲得公司或獨立投資商的贊助 通過軟體基金會,或者是乾脆 創業 來支撐專案。

更多的案例和細節, @nayafia 專門寫過一個指南 ,專門針對的就是如何爲開源工作獲得報酬。不同類型的資助需要不同的技能,所以仔細的掂量下資格,然後找個最適合自己的方式。

建立經濟上的支持

無論你的專案是新的創意,還是已經運行多年,你都需要爲你的資助者滿意,並提出有效而合理的案例。

不管是你自己尋找相應的工作,還是爲專案融資,你都應該嘗試回答下面的問題。

影響

爲什麼說這個專案有實際用處?你的用戶或潛在的用戶會喜歡它?5年之後它會是什麼樣子?

牽引

嘗試着去收集一些和你專案休慼相關的證據,比如指標、有趣的事情、還是其他人的推薦。是否有其它公司或者是業內意見領袖正在使用你的專案?如果沒有的話,是不是應該去找相應的人去推薦下?

充分利用資助者的價值

資助者,無論他是僱傭你的老闆,還是一家獲得授權的基金會,你都有機會和他們頻繁的進行接觸。 他們爲什麼會放棄其它機會而去支持你的專案?他們個人有何好處?

利用風險投資

您將如何用擬議的資金完成什麼?專注於專案里程碑或成果,而不是支付工資。

你將以何種方式接受資助

資助者是否有關於宣傳的額外需求?例如,你可能需要您可能需要成爲非盈利組織或擁有非營利性財政贊助商。又或者是資助者必須給到個人而不是一個組織。這些不同的需求會因爲不同的資助者而異,所以請事先做好準備。

嘗試,不要放棄

賺更多的錢不是件容易的事情,無論你是在開源專案,亦或是在非盈利組織,又或者是軟體的創業公司,但是無論在哪裏,掙得更多錢的祕密就是更多的創造力。當確定了你想如何獲得報酬的時候,請繼續你的研究,將自己放在投資人的角度來看問題,可以幫助你更好的構建一個更加令人信服的賺錢之道。

Why some people seek financial support

Much of open source work is volunteered. For example, someone might come across a bug in a project they use and submit a quick fix, or they might enjoy tinkering with an open source project in their spare time.

There are many reasons why a person would not want to be paid for their open source work.

  • They may already have a full-time job that they love, which enables them to contribute to open source in their spare time.
  • They enjoy thinking of open source as a hobby or creative escape and don’t want to feel financially obligated to work on their projects.
  • They get other benefits from contributing to open source, such as building their reputation or portfolio, learning a new skill, or feeling closer to a community.

For others, especially when contributions are ongoing or require significant time, getting paid to contribute to open source is the only way they can participate, either because the project requires it, or for personal reasons.

Maintaining popular projects can be a significant responsibility, taking up 10 or 20 hours per week instead of a few hours per month.

Paid work also enables people from different walks of life to make meaningful contributions. Some people cannot afford to spend unpaid time on open source projects, based on their current financial position, debt, or family or other caretaking obligations. That means the world never sees contributions from talented people who can’t afford to volunteer their time. This has ethical implications, as @ashedryden has described, since work that is done is biased in favor of those who already have advantages in life, who then gain additional advantages based on their volunteer contributions, while others who are not able to volunteer then don’t get later opportunities, which reinforces the current lack of diversity in the open source community.

If you’re looking for financial support, there are two paths to consider. You can fund your own time as a contributor, or you can find organizational funding for the project.

Funding your own time

Today, many people get paid to work part- or full-time on open source. The most common way to get paid for your time is to talk to your employer.

It’s easier to make a case for open source work if your employer actually uses the project, but get creative with your pitch. Maybe your employer doesn’t use the project, but they use Python, and maintaining a popular Python project help attract new Python developers. Maybe it makes your employer look more developer-friendly in general.

If you don’t have an existing open source project you’d like to work on, but would rather that your current work output is open sourced, make a case for your employer to open source some of their internal software.

Many companies are developing open source programs to build their brand and recruit quality talent.

@hueniverse, for example, found that there were financial reasons to justify Walmart’s investment in open source. And @jamesgpearce found that Facebook’s open source program made a difference in recruiting:

It is closely aligned with our hacker culture, and how our organization was perceived. We asked our employees, “Were you aware of the open source software program at Facebook?”. Two-thirds said “Yes”. One-half said that the program positively contributed to their decision to work for us. These are not marginal numbers, and I hope, a trend that continues.

If your company goes down this route, it’s important to keep the boundaries between community and corporate activity clear. Ultimately, open source sustains itself through contributions from people all over the world, and that’s bigger than any one company or location.

If you can’t convince your current employer to prioritize open source work, consider finding a new employer that encourages employee contributions to open source. Look for companies that make their dedication to open source work explicit. For example:

Projects that originated at a large company, such as Go or React, will also likely employ people to work on open source.

Finally, depending on your personal circumstances, you can try raising money independently to fund your open source work. For example:

Finding funding for your project

Beyond arrangements for individual contributors, sometimes projects raise money from companies, individuals, or others to fund ongoing work.

Organizational funding might go towards paying current contributors, covering the costs of running the project (such as hosting fees), or investing into new features or ideas.

As open source’s popularity increases, finding funding for projects is still experimental, but there are a few common options available.

Raise money for your work through crowdfunding campaigns or sponsorships

Finding sponsorships works well if you have a strong audience or reputation already, or your project is very popular. A few examples of sponsored projects include:

Create a revenue stream

Depending on your project, you may be able to charge for commercial support, hosted options, or additional features. A few examples include:

  • Sidekiq offers paid versions for additional support
  • Travis CI offers paid versions of its product
  • Ghost is a nonprofit with a paid managed service

Some popular projects, like npm and Docker, even raise venture capital to support their business growth.

Apply for grant funding

Some software foundations and companies offer grants for open source work. Sometimes, grants can be paid out to individuals without setting up a legal entity for the project.

For more detailed options and case studies, @nayafia wrote a guide to getting paid for open source work. Different types of funding require different skills, so consider your strengths to figure out which option works best for you.

Building a case for financial support

Whether your project is a new idea, or has been around for years, you should expect to put significant thought into identifying your target funder and making a compelling case.

Whether you’re looking to pay for your own time, or fundraise for a project, you should be able to answer the following questions.


Why is this project useful? Why do your users, or potential users, like it so much? Where will it be in five years?


Try to collect evidence that your project matters, whether it’s metrics, anecdotes, or testimonials. Are there any companies or noteworthy people using your project right now? If not, has a prominent person endorsed it?

Value to funder

Funders, whether your employer or a grantmaking foundation, are frequently approached with opportunities. Why should they support your project over any other opportunity? How do they personally benefit?

Use of funds

What, exactly, will you accomplish with the proposed funding? Focus on project milestones or outcomes rather than paying a salary.

How you’ll receive the funds

Does the funder have any requirements around disbursal? For example, you may need to be a nonprofit or have a nonprofit fiscal sponsor. Or perhaps the funds must be given to an individual contractor rather than an organization. These requirements vary between funders, so be sure to do your research beforehand.

Experiment and don’t give up

Raising money isn’t easy, whether you’re an open source project, a nonprofit, or a software startup, and in most cases require you to get creative. Identifying how you want to get paid, doing your research, and putting yourself in your funder’s shoes will help you build a convincing case for funding.